Stephen King: On Writing

When I heard that Stephen King had published a book about the art and craft of writing, I had to read it … call it morbid curiosity.  Feel free to debate the merits of mainstream fiction v. literature if you like, but you can’t deny that someone who has published as much as this guy must know a thing or two about the business of writing and publishing.

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft is part biography, part tips for aspiring writers.  I was thrilled to learn that he impaled  rejection slips on a nail and tossed an incomplete first draft of “Carrie” into the trash.  Misery (as it were), loves company.   I was even more delighted when he advocated that to be a writer, you have to read.  Here’s a clip of Stephen King giving advice to aspiring writers – makes me laugh every time I see it.

 

 

Leave a comment