Book Trailers: This is What I’m Talking About

Shortly after posting my last blog entry, I came across this book trailer (first video clip below) developed for Jessica Brody’s YA novel, The Karma Club.  It’s exactly what I had in mind.  Brody is a former producer and movie studio exec.  It shows.

In three minutes it gives the inciting incident, introduces the characters and sets up the plot.  Other trailers do this too of course, but Brody’s is slick and engaging.  It’s just like a film trailer.  There’s even a cameo by Deepak Chopra.

The marketing team has taken it one step further by applying the film industry’s approach to the product launch.  Check out the second video below – looks like a movie premiere right?  Talk about dazzle.  They’ve hired up-and-coming actors, and have given credit to photographers and musicians (original score is available on iTunes) and they linked it with a fundraiser. (For more trailer stats, click here.)  Boy, this launch sure is a long way from a table at Costco.

I showed these two clips to my 13-year-old son.  There aren’t quite enough dragons in The Karma Club for his taste, but he thought the trailer and launch were both really cool.  He asked if my book launch would be like this.  Um … well, who knows?  Maybe I can convince Alan Doyle or Allan Hawco to get involved (my protagonist is named Alan after all).  Perhaps Gordon Pinsent is free.  Oh wait, I know … I’ll nab Russell Crowe next time he’s in town.  😉

Hey, if you’re gonna dream, dream big.

And well, you’ll also likely find me at Costco.

4 comments on “Book Trailers: This is What I’m Talking About

  1. Interesting trailer…however, I like to imagine my characters in my own head. With a trailer, the look of the characters is already established in my mind and might be a bit of a spoiler for me.

    • Ah – interesting you say that! For middle grade and young adult fiction, book trailers are everywhere. I think they’re a brilliant way to attract emerging and reluctant readers who tend to prefer stories about characters they already know – this is one reason why there are so many series in these genres. Trailers are a fast way to introduce them to characters so that they’re not approaching a book “cold.” That said, I haven’t found as many trailers for adult fiction, and you could be hitting on exactly why. Personally, it wouldn’t be a spoiler for me. But then, the way a character looks isn’t usually a big deal for me (unless it’s important to the plot somehow). I happen to know that you’re an avid reader, but I’m wondering now whether reluctant adult readers would be attracted by book trailers. Hmm … fascinating … anyone else have any thoughts?

  2. I keep an image of Allan Hawko in my head most of the time anyway, so now it is cemented! your Alan and my Allan are now one… 😉

Leave a Reply

