My Spidey Senses are Tingling

I’m just back from a relaxing vacation in Orlando with the kids.  To ease into the writing groove (and adjust to the shock of a 30 degree drop in temperature), I decided to share some words of wisdom I discovered while standing in line at the Spiderman ride in the Islands of Adventure theme park (an absolute MUST-DO for anyone traveling to that area!).

The queue winds through the Daily Bugle newsroom where the following three posters are displayed:

You don’t win a Pulitzer by

sitting on your

assci characters …

So get moving!

_________________________________

 Midnight Deadline:

You must turn in

either:

Your final story copy

or

Your resignation.

It’s your choice.

Sincerely, the Management

___________________________________

Don’t procrastinate!

Expect delays!

Anticipate cutoff times!

Deliver your material on time!

Lateness is unacceptable and

Inexcusable!

No

Excuses!

Anyone who has worked as a journalist, or in any career dictated by deadlines will see both the humour and truth of these posters.  As a writer, I cracked up laughing when I saw them.  My sudden, unexplained outburst mortified my son and earned me the reprimand (muttered under his breath of course) “Mom, stop being random.”

And so I extend my sincere thanks to Spiderman – for the thrilling theme park ride, the wonderful chuckle in the 40-minute queue and the opportunity to embarrass my teenage son.  After all, public humiliation is the bone nature throws to parents who endure the incessant eye-rolling of their beloved adolescents.

7 comments on “My Spidey Senses are Tingling

  1. Or my all-time favourite (taped outside my editor’s door): Poor planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.

    • Yes, that was often my reaction to Minister’s Office staff when they asked for press releases to be written and pushed through the bureaucratic approval system within three hours (always on a Friday afternoon). 🙂

Leave a Reply

