And the Winner is … Me?

I’m thrilled to announce that this site has just won the Versatile Blogger Award, an honour given by wordpress.com (the company hosting my blog) to sites that demonstrate some degree of awesomeness.versatile blogger

Only a matter of time before the Giller shows up.

The rules surrounding this prestigious award appear somewhat loosey-goosey.  However I can tell you that to win, a site must first be nominated by another Versatile Blogger Award recipient.  And so, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Irish author Lesley Richardson for nominating my site. (Her acceptance blog is hilarious – check it out.  While you’re there, read the excerpt from her novel Biddy Weirdo.  You won’t be disappointed!)  Lesley nominated nine sites in all and said of her nominees “they’re all brilliant bloggers and damn fine writers.”  Aww, shucks.

As part of my acceptance, I’m supposed to tell you seven interesting facts about myself – I had to call my BFF for help on this one.  She provided quite an extensive list … although I don’t think “has too many pets” really counts.

Here’s my list.

Reads Tarot Cards:  I did a reading for a friend one time and at the end of it, she called me a witch.  I’m not sure how that was intended, but I took it as a compliment. We’re still friends though, so I guess it’s all good.

Big Fan of Castle (TV Series):  If you haven’t seen this show yet, check it out.  It stars Nathan Fillion as crime writer Richard Castle who teams up with NYPD detective Kate Beckett, played by Stana Katic.  It’s a lot like Moonlighting.  Nathan Fillion is hilarious.  I can’t wait until the theme song is available as a ringtone.

Studied Spanish for Two Years:  All I can remember now is “¡Dos cervezas por favor” (Two beer please!) and “¿Dónde está el baño” (Where’s the bathroom?).  Yup.  That was money well spent.

Currently taking Piano and Voice Lessons:  I always wanted to play the piano, so when I turned 40 I bought a beautiful Kawai acoustic and started lessons.  I’m about Royal Conservatory of Music grade three now and am working on all three movements of Clementi’s Sonatina in C Major.

The voice lessons are just so that I’m ready when Michael Bublé calls and asks me to sing a duet on his next album.

I’m a Virgo:  BFF actually wrote that I’m an over-achiever.  I prefer to think of myself as having high standards.  I’m also a perfectionist and am freakishly organized. The root cause of all this anal-retentiveness is that I’m a Virgo.

Used to be in a Rock Band:  Or as my guitar-god son puts it, I used to be cool.  I played electric bass in a band called The Prophets.  I think I still have one of our t-shirts around here somewhere.  I even studied music (jazz) at St. Francis Xavier University – well, one year of it anyway … which leads me to the last interesting fact about myself.

Only One Regret:  I didn’t finish my music degree.  The story of how I went from dreams of being a composer to a career in the public service is actually pretty interesting – and one I’ll no doubt tell in my memoir someday.  I think that once I’m a rich and famous author, and I don’t have to worry about things like working for a living, I’ll to go back to university and finish my BA in music …  maybe even write the score to the film adaption of one of my novels.

And now, my list of blogs I think worthy of the Versatile Blogger Award.

www.katerobbinsauthor.com:  for sheer enthusiasm toward and love of all things books and writing

http://peggyblair.wordpress.com:  for her fabulous Inspector Ramirez series

http://literaryman.com: for consistently interesting posts

17 comments on “And the Winner is … Me?

  1. Well done, Ms. Francis! I learned something about you today… The Prophets? Way cool. And as a fellow Virgo, I must protest the use of the word “freakish” to describe your organizational skills. The fact that everybody else is disorganized does not make you a freak — it makes you fabulous!
    Big hugs,
    Shelly

  2. For what it’s worth I think you’re cool. But I’m not a teenager and so therefore I don’t know if my opinion counts. Plus I’m old and forgetful. What were we talking about again? 🙂 Love this post and thanks for the nomination. It’s an honour. 😀

  3. So glad I nominated you for this, Valerie, as your answers are epic! You’re so multi-talented I feel quite inadequate – and completely in awe! A rock band! Go you! 😉

Leave a Reply

