Five Reasons Authors Should Blog

Every day, WordPress sends blog ideas to its subscribers via The Daily Post. Usually I just watch these things go by. Sometimes I read what other bloggers have written.  But on Tuesday the daily prompt was “Why do you blog?”

Fantastic question!

1.  Progress Report:  I started this blog to keep friends and family up to date on my book. I never dreamed strangers would stop by and like what I had to say. Eight months later, my site has received over 4,000 hits and has been read in 27 countries. Even if you subtract the few hundred hits my parents have made, it’s still pretty cool.

2.  Marketing Tool:  Apparently publishers look favourably upon first-time authors who already have a following – better chance of increased sales I guess. I seriously doubt it makes or breaks a publishing contract, but hey, every little bit helps.

3.  Discipline:  For a blog to attract visitors the writer has to post meaningful content consistently. Some say daily, but I prefer weekly. Let’s face it, no one is interesting enough to listen to every day.

4.  Community: Valerie’s Journal is now part of a broader social media marketing strategy.  Through it, my goodreads account, twitter and my facebook page (links can be found in the column to the right), I’ve met other writers, agents and journalists all over the world.  We share information, learn from one another, and celebrate each other’s achievements.  In fact, it was through blogging that I met the members of my writing group.

5.  The “Godin/Peters Principle”: Hey, if it’s good enough for them …

6 comments on “Five Reasons Authors Should Blog

Leave a Reply

